Seasons of Change

By Jasmine Farris

August starts hotter than all.

The month before the season of Fall.

The months leading up are filled with laughter.

School begins shortly soon after.

Then you come to realize that,

This highschool year is your last.

Fall quickly comes around,

With autumn leaves all falling down.

Carving pumpkins and corn mazes with friends,

Means Fall is soon coming to an end.

One more season closer to leaving.

College next year makes me feel uneasy,

Cause I won’t be having my friends and family.

Without them, I’m sure to lose my sanity.

Winter blows Fall away,

Each day getting closer to May.

The snowball fights rage like when we were kids,

Letting our inner child out one last time to live.

Christmas and New Years quickly pass by,

And so begins the preparations for goodbye.

Goodbye to those I’ve known my whole life,

Goodbye to everyone I have and haven’t liked.

Soon Spring begins with new colors everywhere,

I try to find excuses anywhere.

An excuse why I can’t leave.

Excuses that prevent me,

From leaving behind the life I know.

But I know that ultimately, I have to go.

Then comes that dreaded day,

Your whole life will change today.

Walking across that little stage,

Diploma in hand, you enter a new age.

Summer comes and quickly passes.

Soon the days come to start your classes.

Time flies when with your friends.

Together forever until Summer ends.

August starts hotter than all.

The month before the season of Fall.

The months leading up are filled with laughter.

School begins shortly soon after.

Same rhyme, different meaning.

While my smile may be beaming,

Inside I am a mess.

But I have to start nonetheless.

Now it’s time to move somewhere new.

I look out the window at the view,

And see my future staring back at me.

You’re not just going for a degree.

You have memories to make,

Some gold but also some mistakes.

This isn’t goodbye but more of a hello!

Hello to a new life beginning to grow.

Fall quickly comes around,

With autumn leaves all falling down.

Carving pumpkins and corn mazes with new friends,

Life has begun once again.

College isn’t easy but it is getting easier,

It won’t slow down, but life won’t either.

Life isn’t perfect without family and friends,

But now I know my world will not end.

Winter blows Fall away,

I see my friends and family over break.

After New Years, school starts,

So from home, I depart.

Spring lights my eyes with new colors.

Giving me lots of things to uncover.

Like how change isn’t always so bad.

Life has a way of making me glad.

Glad I left and did something new.

Glad I have something new to do.

Then comes that expected day. 

You have to go home today.

You’ve spent all year on your own.

Now it’s time for you to be home.

Summer begins to start but you don’t know what to do.

Everything’s changed since being gone too.

So you hang out with family and friends,

Beginning to feel like yourself again.

As you take in the warm summer sun,

You realize your life has only just begun.

You have so much to look forward to.

These college years are only a few.

So when August starts, don’t be afraid.

The rest of your life isn’t at stake.

Leave a comment