To Judge A Dead Man With Great Fear

By John Lee, Syford Poetry Contest Winner


IMG_1218

I took a stroll one crisp, cold day

Through the cemet’ry, an arm’s throw away.

Fall it was, the palette so bleak-

The air was cool, the wind was sleek. 

 

I passed a grave, one or two.

Most were small, some large a few.

So proud and tall they stood afar,

And pleased at the view, my mind ajar.

 

What then ensued? A peculiar thought

From the depths not once ever sought.

A gem it was, unfamiliar and dark

from what I saw so clear and stark.

 

Sir Norman Starley read his name.

Long asleep in this marv’lous frame.

Lavish engravings and embellishments covered,

Stood prominent, higher than others and towered.

 

Who was this man of high esteem

To have been giv’n an affluent scene?

Just as the ancient catacombs

Where mighty pharaohs called their homes?

 

And in his shadow lay a stone

Scarcely seen, shy, alone.

His face was turned as if ashamed

To have been seated so misplaced.

 

Could he have not afforded more?

Lest he find a plot to store

His corpse before ascending high?

How did he live? How did he die?

 

A pathetic sight it was, I thought.

Ha! I scoffed, how could I not?

But then I gasped for ghosts they haunt,

And stiffened to think- this could taunt.

 

Then rushing forth, these stories old.

Many times had I been told

Of wretched faces lingering

In places of such wandering.

I feared his spirit would have appeared

Provoked from all that I had jeered.

I trembled at the thought so pale

And felt the ambiance so stale.

 

I stood erect for long a time

When such terror struck through my spine!

I turned my gaze to conclude this stroll

And behold such horror! My heart, a hole!

 

A cry of terror like a flood

Carried far, it curdled blood!

A wretched figure standing there!

The skin bleached pale with upright hair!

 

 

Perhaps, the ending of this tale-

Clear, as I “escaped” to tell-

Will teach a lesson, oh so dear

To judge a dead man with great fear!

 

 

‘Twas just a neighbor on a walk.

She really didn’t mean to stalk.

No words exchanged, what could I say?

Excused myself and hurried away.


John Lee – Student at AU, Major in Biology

My name is John Lee. I was born in Nairobi and grew up in a little town called Voi in the Taita-Taveta plains of Kenya. I transferred from a university in Massachusetts to Anderson University and am currently majoring in biology as a sophomore. I work in the English Department as a student secretary and in International Student Services as the student coordinator, and I am an active member of AASA (Asian American Student Association). In my free time, I enjoy reading scientific journals, practicing the cello, riding my bike, and spending time with my friends.

Leave a comment