The Rose

By: Cyera Young

The petal closes and the thorns grow strong

Beauty that deceives hiding secret pain.

Only wanting to know how to belong.

The stem standing strong in the wind becoming its chain

Supporting the beauty in which it holds.

Watching as each petal falls to the ground

Standing strong knowing what it really beholds

Unready for the secrets held to be found.

Silently living life with a dream in mind

Wishing to start a new ready for change

Falling behind feeling so confined

Noticing change around me feeling so strange

Time goes by fast and life comes to an end

As petals close let life itself amend.

 

Displaying BIO.JPG

I am a first year nursing major from Moberly, Missouri. I am a Potterhead and my house is Ravenclaw, though some would say I belong in Gryffindor. My favorite pass time is sketching but I also really enjoy writing in different forms.

 

Leave a comment