Woods to Garden

By Kiley Huff

Lost in the woods. How to get out? Left, right, left,

left, right, right, right. Dead end. Turn around,

don’t remember the way I came. Panicking, faster,

faster. Dead end. Turn back. I think I’ve passed

this? It’s all so confusing. Turn another corner and 

there He is. He smiles and opens His arms. Crying, I

run into His open arms, almost knocking Him over

with the force of impact. He stands there holding

me as I cry from being found after being so scared.

After I calm down, He takes my hand and slowly 

leads me out, pausing whenever I let go or look

away. Each time, I look back with fear in my eyes to 

Where I left Him, and every time, He’s standing

exactly where I last knew Him to be, hand still

on His face. Whenever I wander, He’s waiting around

the next corner to lead me out. It takes a long time

because I keep letting go, keep looking away, keep

walking away, but He doesn’t give up until we are

out of the woods and in the Garden where I can

never get lost again

Leave a comment